Confessions of a CrossFit-Obsessed Nanny

14 Jan

Image

A few months ago, the woman I work for joined a local CrossFit gym called CrossFit Rubicon in Tysons Corner. I had also heard about that particular gym from a fellow blogger (to be honest, no one should ever put me in the same category) who had just celebrated her 1 year anniversary with CrossFit. Down from a size 14-16 to a size 4, as well as 40 lbs, she looked FANTASTIC. I met with her for coffee to discuss it, and less than a month later, I joined.

 

My dad is a huge CrossFit guy back home in North Carolina. When he started, he was an out of shape 53 year old man (no offense, Dad!), but less than two years later, he is a CF regular and has completed a Tough Mudder. For those of you who don’t know what a Tough Mudder is, it is an all-out 12 mile mud run with 60 obstacles. He completed it at age 55. The day after he finished that race is the day I emailed CrossFit Rubicon.

 

I am a former athlete, and I played 14 years of soccer before I went to college. I had numerous injuries including 7 concussions, countless broken bones including my jaw, fingers, toes, ankle, you name it, and a pretty bad hyperextension in my knee that tore all the muscles in the back of my leg. Needless to say, I needed a break from competitive sports, and I was advised by a doctor not to play anymore contact sports because of all my concussions. I loved the feeling of being in shape, but I didn’t really like to work-out. In all honesty, I HATED working out. Throughout college I gained close to 20 lbs, topping out at 140 lbs. I’m 5’6, and I should weigh around 125 lbs (I think…at least I am usually in shape around that number). On my wedding day I was 119 lbs, but boy, was I a stressed bride that had just started a business! It’s hard to say where I feel the most comfortable…other than where I am now.

 

On my first day of CrossFit at Rubicon, I was scared out of my mind. I had seen videos of these super buff women, and even though I have always been athletic and good at sports, I was VERY intimidated. But, I knew a few women who started farther behind me. I certainly psyched myself out, but the first day I went, I was hooked. We were asked to do box jumps, and I was surprised at how high I could jump…but that was the easy part. The main work-out consisted of wall balls. Wall balls consist of holding a 14 lb weighted ball, squatting down very low, and then propelling yourself up and throwing the ball 10 ft up on a wall…..150 times. It.Was.Tough…..But, it was goooood. I was sore for days, but again, I was hooked.

 

I didn’t have to worry about my old injuries since I had so much one vs. one interaction with the coaches. It felt like I had a personal trainer. They took an interest in me, and they continue to this day to push me to my limits….but I am one of those girls who needs to be pushed. When I was younger, it was a rare occasion that I really tried my best when it came to sports. If I tried my best, and I didn’t do well, or my team lost, I was so tough on myself. But in the gym, I wasn’t worried about what anyone else was thinking…except when I got caught checking out all the muscles these amazing women had. I heard a few of their stories, saw some before and after pictures, and I set my mind to being the best that I can be.

 

I only have a little time left before my husband and I have children, so my one last goal before pregnancy is to get in the best shape of my life. I am only 5 weeks into this, and I only go 3 times a week, but I am already thinking about how I need to increase to an unlimited membership. I have actually GAINED 7 lbs since I started, and I am coming in at a proud 131 lbs at the moment (with all my clothes on). I am going to say that 5-6 of that is muscle, with maybe a little extra from the holidays ;). I have lost a dress size, my rear end is, I swear, an inch higher, and I like to flex a few of my muscles in the mirror from time to time. I feel the best that I have ever felt in my life.

 

The work-outs are short, and the people I meet every day are amazing. Our gym has people of every shape, color, size, fitness level, you name it. But, EVERYONE is nice. Most of the time, I still have no idea what I am supposed to be doing, but I know that I am never annoying anyone by asking for help.

 

I am now acting like my dad: obsessing over awesome pictures of athletes doing some amazing tasks, posting about my work-out every day on Facebook, living in my work-out gear, and yes, still admiring some of the women’s awesome muscles. For the first time in my life, I am not interested in being skinnier….I want to be STRONGER. I even get to wear my zombie socks for when we climb the ropes. 

Katie+Anything zombie related+CrossFit=Happy Katie

 

If you are interested in trying CrossFit, feel free to contact Chef, the owner of CrossFit Rubicon. His email address is chef@cfrubicon.com. They just added a ton of new classes to accommodate everyone’s schedule. Here’s a link to Rubicon’s website: http://www.cfrubicon.com

2 Responses to “Confessions of a CrossFit-Obsessed Nanny”

  1. riggsme January 15, 2013 at 9:35 PM #

    I know that other blogger. She’s jacked and smokin hot!

    • Ryan January 15, 2013 at 10:40 PM #

      You can say that again, meow. 😀

Leave a Reply

