How to Rock a Nanny Interview: What to Wear

3 Dec

This will be the first post from a series on how to rock a nanny interview. Make sure to check back next week on some other helpful tips!

For me every morning, the hardest part about getting out the door on time is deciding what to wear that day. Let me preface all of what I’m about to say with these two comments: (1) I have a very extensive wardrobe and (2) I am currently wearing work-out clothes while working in the office…while we are open. Please take what I say with a grain of salt, but from my experience as both a nanny and an agency owner, these are usually good rules to follow.

One of the toughest things for nannies is deciding on what to wear when interviewing for the first time with a family. While I think that there is even a difference on what to wear to interviewing with my agency and interviewing with a family, there are a few do’s and don’t’s.

Here are a few of the general rules of thumb:

(1) “If ya got it, DON’T flaunt it”. Treat nanny interviews just like you would a professional interview….because nanny interviews ARE professional interviews. Leave the cleavage and booty cracks at home. I’d also advise against any part of your body showing that you can find in a men’s magazine (your bellybutton, your back, your butt cheeks, etc.). In this case, “MODEST IS HOTTEST”.
(2) Wear something that looks professional, but is also functional. While I fully appreciate when nannies come into our interviews with business attire, interviewing with a family is a little different. Switch out your slacks or suit for khakis or dressier jeans. Some families really look for your connection with the kids, so be able to get down on the floor to play with them….without flashing anyone. Leave the skirts at home, ladies….and men.
(3) Avoid wearing anything with offensive writing. I can’t believe I even have to write that, but you would be surprised about what I have seen.
(4) Leave the dangly earring and necklaces at home. I am a HUGE fan of colorful jewelry, but you will not catch me wearing it when I am around children. Trust me, the kids WILL get ahold of your earring at some point, and they WILL give it a tug.
(5) Take out any visible piercings. I am all for freedom of self-expression, but I would be lying if I said that most families are accepting of piercings. Wear what you’d like in your own time, but remember that you are representing a family as their nanny, and most office jobs do not allow this either.
(6) Cover any tattoos you have, if possible. I also have 3 tattoos. I will also clarify that every tattoo I has is very small, easily hidden, and only has a sweet meaning behind it. Again, in a perfect world, no one would judge anyone based on their appearance, but cover them up. I only got away with saying mine were “stamps” for awhile.

Downloads1
Best of luck, everyone!

Leave a Reply

